Skip to content

School Community Council

Next Meeting
Date: February 18, 2021 and March 18, 2021
Time: 4:30 PM
Place: West Hills Middle School Auditorium
Agenda: See Below

West Hills Middle School has an active School Community Council which consists of parents, school staff and the principal. School employees and parent members are elected by secret ballot. Parents must have a student at WHMS in order to serve on the SCC. If you are interested in serving on the council, the nomination form is here.

Four SCC meetings are held each year, usually on Wednesdays or Thursdays at 4:30 PM. The SCC participates in the development of our school improvement plan, the professional staff development plan, and approves the land trust budget each year. In addition, the SCC provides input for the school's child access routing plan which includes safe walking routes to school from each neighborhood within school boundaries. The SCC also partners with school administration in creating a safe and constructive internet environment for students.

The SCC is responsible for coordinating the annual fundraising activities of WHMS. The SCC provides a forum for community discussion of school related concerns and encourages citizens to express their views about educational issues. SCC information is available on this website. Upcoming meetings will be announced on our marquee and on our community bulletin board. We encourage any interested persons to join us. We value your input. Together we can make a stronger school.

School Land Trust Plans, Reports & Program Funding

Utah State Board of Education Land Trust Website

Each year, every school in Utah is allocated a certain amount from the state to be used as seen fit by the school community council. Land Trust funds have been allocated in the following amounts:

  • 2020-2021: $177,113
  • 2019-2020: $147,065
  • 2018-2019: $116,178
  • 2017-2018: $105,684
  • 2016-2017: $84,562
  • 2015-2016: $83,593
For a more detailed breakdown of amounts, historical plans, etc., view the files listed below:

Utah's School Land Trust Public Reports Website

2020-2021 School Community Council Members

Member Name Type E-Mail Address Phone Number
David Pack Chair/Parent 801-244-1946 phone and Zoom
Jenni Shelton Vice Chair/Parent
Jessica Otero Secretary (801) 412-2300
Amy Ogden Parent
Karen Beebe Parent
Ellen Hensel Licensed School Employee (801) 412-2300
Cynthia Vandermeiden Principal (801) 412-2300

School Community Council Meeting Minutes

2020-2021 School Year

Date Agenda Minutes
9/22/2020 SCC Agenda SCC Minutes
11/19/2020 SCC Agenda SCC Minutes
2/18/2021 SCC Agenda SCC Minutes
3/18/2021 SCC agenda SCC Minutes

2019-2020 School Year

Date Agenda Minutes
October 3, 2019 SCC Agenda 10.3.19 SCC Minutes 10.3.19
November 21, 2019  SCC Agenda 11.21.19 SCC Minutes 11.21.19
January 23, 2020  SCC Agenda 1.23.20 SCC Minutes 1.23.20
March 5, 2020 SCC Agenda 3.5.20

2018-2019 School Year

Date Agenda Minutes
March 6, 2019 SCC Agenda 3.6.19 SCC Minutes 3.6.19
January 9, 2019 SCC Agenda 1.9.19 SCC  Minutes 1.9.19
November 14, 2018 SCC Agenda 11.14.18 SCC Minutes 11.14.18